Now that I’m back to work, I have about a 20-minute walk to the bus stop to contemplate just how damn cold it is these days. I come from the South, where snow falls one day and melts the next – and yet, our snowpocalypse happened weeks ago and there’s plenty of white stuff still on the ground. On one hand I love it, because, hey, SNOW! But walking in the frigid temperatures isn’t all that fun.

Today as I left work, I rounded the usual corner to get to my bus stop and noticed that the last 50 feet of sidewalk hadn’t been shoveled, making it a slippery, icy mess. Since I was already running a little later than usual and unsure if I would manage to catch the next scheduled bus, my heart sank when I saw that treacherous path. I stepped gingerly onto the snow,  looking over my should to see if the bus was coming up behind me. My thoughts ran thusly:

Now I’ll never make it in time! If the bus pulls up now I can’t run to catch up to it on this stuff, and if I don’t make it to the stop on time I’ll miss it and then I’ll have to stand out here for another 20 minutes! That’s it, that can’t happen, the bus JUST CAN’T COME right now.

Wait, what was that? Did I just command the city transit system, nay the universe, to stop everything? To put everything on hold and keep that bus from arriving just so *I* don’t have to stand out in the cold? Sure enough, my body had clenched, my shoulders hunched (ok, so I was cold, but moreso than necessary) and I had actually gritted my teeth as if by sheer will I could stop that bus from coming. I actually laughed at myself when I realized it. It’s the same feeling I get when I’m on an airplane and we go through turbulence – I get all tense and  focused as if I have some control over the plane’s movements. I have to tell myself to relax, let it go, did YOU think you could control THAT?

The bus came two minutes after I made it to the stop, so I didn’t have to stand out in the cold for long. I’m definitely grateful for that, but I certainly can’t take any responsibility.

