Tags

sparklerI haven’t been this scatter-brained in years.

There was a time when it was an accepted truth: water is wet and I will lose anything that isn’t nailed down. Keys, important papers, books, sunglasses, gloves, you name it: I’ve lost many. This was partly due to the fact that I was sleepwalking. A lot. I would have a dream that filled me with this intense need to finish a task or do something right away and upon waking I would find (eventually) keys stashed in the freezer and college textbooks in the dormitory suite bathroom. I was wound pretty tight.

That continued until five years ago or so, when a series of events forced me to wake up and pay attention to the enormous amount of stress that had become an everyday norm for me. Leaving toxic relationships, starting therapy, starting meditation: all these things have help me reduce my baseline stress level a great deal.

But in the last two weeks, it all came back. I’m losing things again. Very Important Things as well as relatively inconsequential things which all add up to some serious frustration (with myself) and A LOT of time spent simply looking for things.

On top of that, several of my electrical devices have glitched or  shorted out, all in a short period of time. It’s as if the buzz of my own misdirected energy is affecting them, too. I wish I knew what was going on, and when this will be over.

